Skip to content

Exciting September/Couldn’t be more proud…

September 1, 2012

image

This is actually a two-part post…first, my wonderful family.  I just couldn’t be more proud.  As those of you who know me know, we’ve adopted four children from China, tw0 7-year olds, a 5 year old, and a 3 (almost 4) year old.  They are all adapting wonderfully.  We also have three older boys, our natural children.  My oldest just made his Star rank in Boy Scouts, and is only a few requirements away, and a few months away, from becoming a Life scout, one shy of his goal of being an Eagle scout.  It’s all he talks about.  My second oldest who crossed over in February has made his Tenderfoot, and is two requirements shy of becoming a 2nd class scout.  He has the same goal of wanting to be an Eagle scout.  My third boy is finishing up his Webelos 2 year looking forward to joining the troop.  He is four activity badges shy of completing all 20 activity badges (following his two older brothers).  All three are doing wonderfully in Scouting, and have really stepped up as brothers to their adopted siblings.

My adopted children, in particular Jason, our first adopted child and now 7, after watching the Olympics this summer, clearly told us he wanted to be like Michael Phelps.  He loves swimming, and after watching him swim, said that’s what he wants to do.  He asked to be on the swim team.  We took him up to the Countryside YMCA for the Torpedoes try-outs.  He made the team!  He has worked out consistently since then, including accompanying me to the gym and on my runs.  Keep in mind, he’s only 7, and was born with congenital club feet.  To watch him swim, walk and run is nothing short of amazing, seeing what he has done with himself since we’ve brought him home.  Yes, I have to slow my pace, and yes, I now have to run twice on his running days, but it’s well worth watching him grow. 

I could write a novel on my youngest girl and what she’s done since we’ve brought her home, also born with club feet.  She’s now in ankle braces, after months in casts, and walking unassisted (almost running).  Again, nothing shy of amazing. Our two newest girls, 7 and 5, are doing absolutely wonderful as well.  I honestly don’t know how my wife does it, taking care of this many kids with my schedule.  A real saint, and a blessing to watch.

image

Now for our busy September in Scouting.  Our youngest, Jason has just started as a Tiger cub.  We’re starting all over again, including the Go See Its which we have scheduled this month.  He’s looking forward to starting his journey.  He also has his first big swim meet this month.

Josh is finishing up Webelos 2 and is working on his Geologist badge this month.  We’ll be making a trip up to Caesar Creek Lake for the geologist badge and fossil hunting.  He’s also busy working on his Arrow of Light requirements, preparing himself for Boy Scouts.  Peterloon 2012 is coming up shortly, and he’s looking forward to camping with his new troop, and his brothers.  Jacob and Johnny have their Survival Campout coming up (second for Johnny, first for Jacob) this month, as well as a backpacking trip for Johnny at the end of this month.  Jacob also has his first JLT this month.

I don’t believe we have a single free weekend, and very few free nights this month with troop meetings, roundtables, leader meetings, swim practice, band practice, campouts and backpacking trips.  As busy as we are, I couldn’t be more proud of my kids, and couldn’t be more excited for what this month will bring.

Happy Labor Day Weekend!

image

No comments yet

Leave a comment